With A Convoy of Movers, I Think I Can Finally Relax

I’m not sure if I’m the only one who experiences this, but I have severe anxiety with any sort of small change in my life. Thinking about brushing my teeth in a new bathroom, or having to figure out new light switches and where they are will make me so stressed out, that I’ll have to cool off in a corner for a while. I’m not sure why I do it, but I start micromanaging my life and focusing on the little things that I will have to alter on a day to day basis, rather than seeing things as a whole. I realize that this isn’t helping anybody, but my mind just sort of goes there on its own.

That being said, preparing for the move this past week, you can expect how I was handling it. Not good. Between phone calls, tears and anything that would aid my in my procrastination, I managed to get a few solid days of packing in. I spent a few hours cleaning, as did my roommates. Then, when it came time to actually move, it seemed that there was a convoy of friends that had come to our rescue. In total, we had 8 people, a 17 foot U-Haul truck, 6 turkey club sandwiches, 2 vegan wraps and a lot of willpower that got us through the day.

Although the move went smoothly, we did run into a slight complication during this process. The couch wouldn’t fit through the doorway of the living room, no matter how hard we tried! We even tried taking the door off of the frame, but the hallway makes putting it in the room a very difficult job. Currently, it’s standing sideways in our kitchen full of boxes, and we’re still trying to come up with ideas on how to make it work. Our next bet is borrowing a drill to get the legs off of it, and squeezing it in somehow (TWSS?). Or buying a stick of dynamite and lighting the damn thing on fire.

I must say, though, after living here a whole 2 and a half days, I can say that it’s not as bad as I expected it to be. My transition is hopefully going to be a small one. I’ve got the setup of our Arts and Crafts room to look forward to, and I’ve been distracting myself with my new goodies.

Oh, did I not mention that I bought myself a present for all of these efforts? That’s right, I did. I saved for 3 months, and was finally able to purchase my brand new Pentax K-x! It arrived yesterday, and I think it’s official. I’ve fallen in love. I’m definitely a novice at this stuff, but expect to see lots of Flickr updates!

What were you up to while I was away? I missed you!

9 responses to “With A Convoy of Movers, I Think I Can Finally Relax

  1. Woo! Congratulations on the (mostly) successful move! That’s really wonderful news, and yay for new Cameras! I got a new one recently too, and I very much <3 it, so I totally understand your enthusiasm :)

  2. Oh, girl…I’m with you on the anxiety. I freak out over the “little things” like where I’ll put my glasses or where I’ll store my toothpaste. Enjoy your camera!

  3. I love that photo!!

    We haven’t talked in ages, now that things are settling down where you are and where I am maybe we’ll get a few emails in. ;)

  4. I’m so glad that you’ve got your camera and that you’re settling into your new place. I can’t wait to hear how you feel about it when the anxiety has passed- and to hear what your rat thinks about it. Lets be honest, that’s all that really matters, right? =)

  5. hahahaha. i laugh because this weekend the boyf & i tried moving in a new fridge and had to take the doors off the fridge AND the house to get it in – as well as the old one out. moving can be a pretty big nightmare sometimes, but i’m usually pretty excited about it (well – about the new place, not the actual moving – i hate that part). just think of it as a clean slate, and a big chance to change a little bit about yourself!

    …and my, what a lovely lens you have!

  6. Moving is seriously the worst. I’m a laid back person but I get so anxious and irritated when I have to move. I’m glad it went fairly smoothly. Good luck with all the adjusting. You deserve that present.

  7. i have the opposite problem of getting way too excited about change that i impulsively make major huge dramatic changes without really realizing it could potentially suck. i’m a starter of millions of projects that never end up being finished. follow through: i suck at this. i admire your big change lady, and i am pumped about seeing the new adventures that are documented with your fantastic camera!

  8. I am so glad that the move went well. I hope you adapt to things quickly. As much as I love the idea of change, I don’t actually like it when things change.

  9. It’s stressing me out just reading about it! Haha, but the waters will become calm once again, and you have a lovely little camera! I can’t wait to see the flickr photos!

Leave a Reply

