Back To School

I was never particularly good at any specific subjects in school, but always seemed to enjoy the majority of the classes I took. After I graduated, I moved 3 hours from home and attended a college just outside of the city. Although I loved going, it was a major reality shock to me, and trying to juggle living costs with homework was not cutting it. So, after a semester I decided that I was going to take some time off to sort things out. Not shortly after I thought it was a brilliant idea to enroll in a Makeup Artistry diploma program where I ended up paying more than $14,000 on tuition and supplies in 10 months, and in the past 3 years have rarely used any skills learned.

Throughout the past couple of years, I have really started missing going to school and learning. I have looked up courses at schools nearby countless times, and even went through with even registering for a few of them. Although, as soon as I found a single thing to use as an excuse I took it. I didn’t end up going to any of the classes I was enrolled in, and it eventually slipped my mind.

But, with my recent love of photography, I started weighing out my pros and cons of starting classes this year. I started really concentrating on it, and found that all of the cons on my list were things that I had mysteriously created. Excuses like, “The classes end at 10pm, that’s so late!” or “I’m saving up for a trip to see my dearest friend, and this will be cutting into that” or “The last time I made an impromptu decision to go to school I was $10,000 in debt and still am.”

The pros on my list made me start feeling really, really good about it. I’d be able to actually properly learn how to use the $600 camera I just bought. I’d get a chance to be motivated to continue creating with assignments and feedback from a professional. I would get a chance to meet some great people, and get an introductory to the field. And, even though I’d be cutting into vacation money, at least this would give me a chance to be in tune with my inner creativity on a daily basis, rather than a yearly trip.

Then, with the help of a friend finding the class at the perfect time, I leapt and landed in one solid movement. I went into the school on Monday,registered and paid tuition for a Beginner DSLR class starting today!!! It’s a 10 week course (once a week) that will explore the basics on how to use my camera technically and creatively. Talk about perfect timing! I’m excited for what the course has in store for me, and am excited to share what I learn! I will be giving you guys an update as soon as I can, but for now, it’s off to class I go!

{Via Google}

4 responses to “Back To School

  1. Oh hurrah! I’m so glad that this is the case, I can’t WAIT to hear how it went! :)

  2. It started TODAY? That’s amazing!! Hope you’re having fun!

  3. That is so awesome! :) I’m so glad for you.

  4. This is inspiring. I do and do not want to go back to school. Maybe a 10 week course is more my thing.

Leave a Reply

