Optimism At Its Best

Well, my lovelies! It’s about time that I kick myself in the arse for being such a humbug these past few weeks. I feel like all of my negative energy is leaving as the sun emerges from it’s hiding place. 

It is such a gorgeous day today in the beautiful city of Vancouver. I managed to get out of bed at 9am this morning (with some motivational help from the 4 alarms I had set for myself) and went to a job interview. You know what I thoroughly enjoy? Interviewers that know what they’re doing, yet aren’t intimidating. I was interviewed by 2 different men, one after the other, and they were both very down to Earth and understanding. As well, one of my friends that I used to work with about a year and a half ago recently got a job there and referred me as an excellent hire! I’m really looking forward to hearing from them, and hope that something comes out of it. I say hope, mainly for the fact that I sometimes get ahead of myself, feeling like I got the job no problem, but when it comes down to it, I get really disappointed. But, I’m incredibly optimistic. And it would be really great to work with my friend again!

During the interview, one of their questions was ‘Where do you see yourself 5 years from now?’ What a blow! I had to think about it for a little bit, trying to fill the awkward silence with what my plans are for the next year, but found it difficult to come up with an answer that was meaningful to me. I didn’t want to say, ‘Hopefully in a long term relationship with someone I love, living in a nice apartment on Main St. that I’ve decorated nicely, finished school, and working a decent paying job that I enjoy thoroughly.’ I thought that would be a little inappropriate, so I implied that I would have gone to shcool and finished some sort of degree by then, and finding a career in Vancouver.

I’m going to change the subject before I get emotional and freak out because I don’t know what to do with my life. I’m having a good day and I don’t want to spoil it.

My apartment has been absolutely freezing because of the dropping temperatures. Whenever I go outside after 5pm I’m always reminded that it, indeed, is still winter. Ugh. I cannot wait for the weather to get better. I want to be able to leave my house in a skirt, tights and a cardigan and feel comfortable. Is that too much to ask?

Recently I found some of that pent up motivation to finish some of my craft projects I’ve been working on. I made a couple little monsters, (although they are a little weirdly stitched because the needle for the sewing machine broke halfway through the first one and I didn’t have any extras) and I’m thinking about keeping them as little extras for when I open up my etsy account. I also finished my brightly salmon coloured cowl that I was working on for a good month! 

 

Soon to be on Etsy!

Soon to be on Etsy!

 

I’ve also been reading quite a bit. I finished William Burroughs’ Junky,  Douglas Coupland’s The Gum Theif in about 3 days, and am currently working on Coupland’s All Families Are Psychotic

Oh! And another thing I’m working towards… Tom, my roommate, is going to sell me his 32Gb iPod Touch for $300! He got a free iPhone through his company, and I’ve been desperately missing my iPod (see also:  A Streak of Bad Luck). He agreed to me paying him in small incraments, and borrowing/putting anything I want on it until it’s paid off!!! Hold onto your seats, people, I’m about to jump on the technology bandwagon!

One response to “Optimism At Its Best

  1. I frickin HATE that 5 year question.. I can barely think past dinner, let alone 5 bloody years…

Leave a Reply

