A New Hobbit Hole? Well, It’s Not A Hobbit Hole At All, Really…

Interesting month this has been. I’ve gone through trying to find a place to live, getting my head around moving, getting my current place broken into, getting into gangster rap, and packing in the last 2 and a half weeks. It’s happened all so fast, and it feels like I’ve been preparing for my whole life.

And yes, that’s right. That ‘getting my current place broken into’ definitely did happen. Tom and I had left our house for 2 and a 1/2 hours to go house hunting, and came home to find the front and only door wide open. We both gave each other the ‘I know we locked the door’ look and booked it inside to find our place totally trashed. In total, we had 4 laptops, 2 backpacks, 1 digital camera and some change stolen. There was a lot of crying, talking on the phone for moral support, and talking with the cops involved. So, you may have guessed it.. I am definitely without technology right now. My roommate was able to get a computer the next day, but I doubt I’ll be able to get one for a while.

As much as I was upset about the whole thing, I’m pretty sure I’m glad it happened. Our house has now been broken into 3 times in the last 2 years (including upstairs that was broken into once). We live in a basement suite that really isn’t very nice at all, and I hesitated for so long to give my notice. And I can’t express how glad I am that I did.

We are officially on to bigger and better things! Tom and I looked at a place on East 10th Avenue, a block away from Commercial Drive and the skytrain station around the last week of March. It was the first place that we had looked at, and despite the extremely high rent, we fell in love with it. Dishwasher, laundry, some storage space, okay with pets, laminate floors, french doors, a back yard with an apple tree, 20 houses away from Taylor (Literally. We counted)… what more could anyone possible ask for??!?! They took almost 3 weeks to get back to us, but we finally got the call asking us if we were still interested, and we jumped on the opportunity. I cannot wait to get the show on the road and get out of this dump. Half of my stuff is packed, and the house is a complete disaster. But we move on the 29th!

And don’t you worry, there will be pictures updated as soon as we move in!

Leave a Reply

