Dollars and Decades

JudyGarland

This week was all about the old eras that I was never able to experience in my life, and never will. I filled my eyes and ears of it every second I could get this weekend, and wish that our generation had something that we would be remembered by. Somehow it seems that there won’t be and that technology has taken over for good. It makes me sad that our generation doesn’t seem connected in any way that will be memorable later on down the road.

I’ve been exploring music like Frank Sinatra, Billie Holiday, Elvis Presley, Roy Oberson and haven’t been listening to anything else. This morning I got up early and cleaned my room blaring Dean Martin. When I looked outside my window and saw my 70+ year old neighbour and her friend dancing by. It was the sweetest moment ever and more so because they didn’t notice that I saw them.

I watched Bride of Frankenstein for the first time, and was so disappointed when I found out that everyone just dies at the end because she’s afraid of Frankenstein. What a drag. It was still amazing to watch, and entertaining to all of the English people rolling their R’s so classily. Went to The Rocky Horror Picture Show and Little Shop of Horrors midnight double feature on Friday night, and it was really fun too! They will soon be showing The Never Ending Story and I wouldn’t miss that for the world.

I’ve also been trying to focus on purging through my things and getting more stuff for my house. I’ve been living here for 4 months now, and we’ve only hung up 1 painting. I am going to be concentrating my energy on making my house feel more homey and less drab. And shopping for the stash of Christmas presents I’ll have before the holidays.

My next house craft project will hopefully be getting a chalk board. I’m absolutely in love with this, and may just have to indulge. I would also like to buy a crafting staple gun (less extreme than a real one I guess?) so that I can tack fabric on canvases and decorate my house more.

sinatra

What decade do you miss the most?

5 responses to “Dollars and Decades

  1. Oh lady! Buy chalkboard paint, it’s like $20 and you can paint any surface and make it into a chalkboard. Totally worthwhile- you could take posterboard and cut it into a mirror shape and then paint it even. I would come over and help if there weren’t mountains in between us.

    I’m doing the same thing with music as you- but for me it’s all old Rolling Stones and Bob Dylan. I love getting lost in another time.

  2. Hey pallie, couldn’t agree with you more ‘specially with the Dinoref….never was never will be anyone as cool as the King of Cool…oh, to return to the days when Dino walked the earth….loves to see more and more of today’s youth who are so diggin’ our Dino..

  3. Nothing like Dean Martin’s velvet voice to bring back those days of fewer cares and worries.

    And the romance, too.

  4. Frank Sinatra is one of my favorites. Lately I’ve been listening to a lot of Peter Paul and Mary, the Mamas and the Papas and John Denver.

  5. Pingback: I don’t want to live under a rock anymore « France, FTW!

Leave a Reply

