I don’t want to live under a rock anymore

rocks-001-small

Sometimes I feel that this rock represents my knowledge of any sort of pop culture reference of any time period ever. Growing up I had television until I was 7 years old, allowing me to experience such amazing things as Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Power Rangers, Dinosaurs, Full House, old Disney movies and some oldies like the Goonies and E.T. but that’s about it.

During the year I went into second grade, my family moved to Pemberton, BC. It’s a small town with a population of about 2,000 now, and definitely less back then. We moved to the country where there were less negative influences around to sway me the wrong way growing up. We had no television (or means of getting any signal), no radio and a handful of neighbors in the same boat. Thankfully, we did have a VCR and a few movies that could keep me entertained. I must have watched Dumb and Dumber and Men In Black hundreds of times.

Now, if you think about it, someone growing up without any of these makes you have a completely different mindset about pop culture. I have no desire to watch television during my every day routine, and most of my music taste has been influenced by my close friends and some research online. I still have no clue as to who is famous or popular right now, or what movies are out that are ‘must sees’. Sometimes I really feel like I’m missing out. There have been many occasions where my lack of knowledge has effected me such as crossword puzzles, trivia board games and conversation with friends, which usually turns into them shaking their heads in disbelief that I’ve never heard of ____.

Lately I have started exploring old music that I have heard of but never consciously heard, and have a pretty decent list now. [See also: Dollars and Decades] I have since branched out to classic movies that I have not seen, and am just waiting for my roommate to yell at me about my downloading rate. But if it comes up I’ll simply say that I need to download these things to feel more complete and connected with the people I am surrounded by. Haha I’m hoping it doesn’t come up.

Here’s the list of what I have so far:

Scarface
Harold and Maude
American Graffiti (I’ve seen it, but can’t quite remember it)
Casablanca
Breakfast at Tiffany’s
Gone with the Wind
Bonnie and Clyde (I’ve also seen this one)

I’m excited to be able to understand some cultural references with these under my belt, and would love to hear about other movies that are must sees! Send them my way!

ps. Yoga was amazing on Saturday and I cannot wait for tomorrow’s session.

5 responses to “I don’t want to live under a rock anymore

  1. Gone With The Wind is my absolute favorite move of all time. You should also check out The Goonies. Haha, not quite what most would deem a classic, but its worth checking out. =)

    I don’t watch much TV anymore either, often choosing to read or hang out with friends.

  2. There’s always something new and “popular” coming out, be it movies or music so I generally stick to what I know. It’s just wayyyy too much effort keeping up with it all.

    I have loads of movie reccomendations, but I’m not really sure that they’re classics. 🙂

    I’m glad you enjoyed yoga!

  3. No way! Maybe that’s part of the reason we get along so well lol I didn’t have TV from 7 – 13 years old. What a wild coincidence!

    Can we have a skype date this week? I miss you ❤

  4. I’m never up with whats cool in pop culture either, and not because I didn’t grow up with tv, or the radio or anything . . . I never really cared about what the trends were – I liked what I liked and that was enough 🙂

  5. So, I really can’t relate to this but I’m getting into watching classic movies. OK, maybe not classics…I’m going through 80’s movies. I just watched The Breakfast Club. Haha.

    I have always wanted to see Casablance, though! And Gone With the Wind. I’ve wanted to see them for a long time. But I hate movies with sad endings so I’m a little worried. 🙂

Leave a Reply

