8pm on a Wednesday, I start making changes.

dragonfruit1_edited-1

I’ve been thinking about routines lately. More about the fact that I don’t have much of one, and that I’d like to try harder than I have been. I’ve always remembered and planned things better when keeping them in an organized place like a day planner or a calendar, but seem to stray away from them when life gets less hectic.

I have officially started my 9 week yoga challenge, and kicked it off with a Saturday morning class on the weekend. I surprised myself seeing that I could hold my weight in certain positions, and had sweat basically pouring off of my face. My goal was to go yesterday, but was in too much of a negative mindset, and felt like I would not be bringing anything positive to anyone. However, I went to my second yoga class tonight, and it was amazing. Going at 8pm on a Wednesday proves to be great for my mental stability. Despite me feeling like I wasn’t doing the poses correctly, I still did them. And despite me not pushing myself to the point where it hurt, I still challenged and surprised myself with what I could do. And despite my right hip still hurting an hour later, the instructor applauded the energy I brought forth.

So I’ve decided to make an effort to go to yoga at least 3 times a week. I feel that this will be easy enough to accomplish, especially after work. Somehow my weekends end up being jam packed, but the studio is really closeby and I could go there before the day really starts.

I’ve also decided to start making it a point to explore and be more centered. Like I mentioned in a previous post, I feel like I have two sides to myself. The one which is calm and easygoing, where anyone can deter me into doing whatever they want (get your mind out of the gutter), and the one that stresses out, talks to her computer screen, and wonders why she works with a bunch of morons. I want to be able to let these things go more easily.

I also want to start cooking more exotic things, and trying different foods, but still maintain a healthy diet. The other day I tried avocado in my salad, which was pretty much the second time I’ve tried it since I was 10 years old and said, ‘Ew, gross! I don’t like it!’ Avocados and I are now friends, and I am planning to eat them more frequently from now on. I also bought myself a dragon fruit, and indulged about half an hour ago. If you’ve never had one, they taste like a kiwi and pear combo, with the consistency almost like a watermelon. They are so delicious! Let’s just pretend that handful of gummy bears I ate today never happened…

5 responses to “8pm on a Wednesday, I start making changes.

  1. I wouldn’t even know how to get that dragon fruit open! lol The yoga routine sounds amazing, I’ve been considering going lately too… maybe you’ll be the motivating factor! =)

  2. your dragon fruit looks a little like something out of mushnick’s flower shop ala little shop of horrors. i find that adding cilantro to pretty much anything helps tremendously. wishing you luck with your downward facing whatever position!

    xo

  3. Yay for dragonfruit! πŸ™‚ And good on you for rocking yoga . . . I started bikram, and then drama ensued and my enthusiasm for any kind of exercise pretty much died. Alas!

  4. I so want to be more exotic with my food choices! I find so many cool recipes but I always think I’m going to hate the meal so I pass right by them to find yet another chicken recipe. I should just try them and if I hate them, I hate them. But who knows? They could end up being my new favorite meal!

  5. I’ve never had dragonfruit. πŸ™‚ It looks interesting!

    I like to mix things up every now and again, BECAUSE I have a routine…and it can become quite boring let me tell you. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

