Fuzzieees and Halloween Preparation

It all starts with going to the fabric store. No, it started with an idea, then the fabric store. And the pressure of finding an original idea for Halloween. I bought the fabric, and for the first time ever, I can say that I am in the middle of making my own costume. It hasn’t been easy, though.

After getting the material together, I ended up staring at it every day in my living room. It was waiting there while I watched all of that television, and made all of those dinners. It was there on nights when I came home at 6am the next day without sleep, and when I woke up at 3pm and procrastinated. For some reason I couldn’t find motivation past looking at it from afar.

Last week was nothing but going out and enjoying fall. I have been taking a lot of photos of autumn in the city, and have been acting like a 6 year old, mostly. One of those days I ended up riding my bike with a friend all around our neighbourhood shouting, howling like a wolf, and going ‘Aw-aw-aw-aw!!!’ like an Indian (I realize this may sound politically incorrect, but it’s the best way to describe it; think old Western movies). It was one of the most exhilarating days this year, and one of the most exhausting. I swear by 10pm I crashed into my bed and fell asleep as soon as I landed. No costume making happened on that day.

Okay, back on topic: The fact that Halloween is 3 days away is the scariest thing to someone who has their costume half done. However, after picking it up yesterday, I feel pretty confident that I can get it done in time. I still won’t reveal my secret until I have the whole thing done, but I can say that it is a big, white, furry costume. I made a lot of progress yesterday and am excited to say that it actually looks like a jumpsuit as opposed to a bundle of fur. Thanks to Taylor who came over and got me motivated to start working on it again.

IMG_9781

This week is going to be busy.

Breakdown of To Do list is as follows:

  • Dressew for more fabric!
  • Rat food from the pet store after dressew (2 birds with 1 bus ride)
  • Blog about costume & post photo of it for my lovely readers (you know how much I love you)
  • Work on costume!!
  • Call dentist to schedule a consultation for my wisdom teeth pull-age (*cringe*)
  • Food. Make food. At some point.
  • Stop writing blog posts at work

Any guesses on what my costume is yet?

6 responses to “Fuzzieees and Halloween Preparation

  1. Oh yay! I’m glad Taylor came over! =) It looks SO GOOD, I can’t wait to see it all finished lol You’re wonderful.

  2. Oh hurrah! It looks AWESOME! I can’t wait to see the finished thing 🙂

  3. Hahaha I saw this photo and laughed so hard. That’s not what I’m being, but a definite thumbs up on the guess.

  4. My first thought was a teddy bear? But I’m guessing I’m wrong! lol I can’t wait to see it finished though – I bet you’re going to look adorable.

  5. I’m gonna go with Easter Bunny. And making costumes is SO much fun (I kind of wish I could record myself saying this and send it back to myself 4 years ago before I got a sewing MACHINE…) Kyla helped me make a really great costume last year 🙂

Leave a Reply

