Iz Haz Influenza. Sad Face.

I’ve come to the realization that my blog hasn’t contained a lot of substance lately, and apologize for that. It’s been all photos and costume and fun! I guess I can admit that it’s laziness. Or writer’s block. Or not wanting to dwell on anything that doesn’t quite matter in the long run, and I don’t think I’m quite ready.

This sort of came to me after spending 4 days of (almost) solitude in my house. After Halloween I was in quarantine with the flu. The usual hot and cold chills-fever-cough-immobilization was pretty much the worst thing to physically happen to me in a year. I went on a massive Wes Anderson kick. It was fantastic. The Royal Tennenbaums, The Life Aquatic, Bottle Rocket, Rushmore and the Darjeeling Limited with a few other movies thrown between them. What can I say? I was awake, alone and couldn’t force myself to read or make anything.

After three days off of work and a very large and unexpected hydro bill, I’ve decided that it’s time to pull out the crafts and never leave my house again. Most people, after being stuck inside for 4 days straight, would jump at the opportunity to go outside or just get out. But not I. Once I get the taste of lazy domesticity, I would rather do it forever than do anything else.

Here are some legwarmers I made this week. Well, technically it took me like 6 months to make them, but most progress was done this week.

legwarmers

My current project is making a cowl like the ones I’ve seen at H&M for over $20. I’m making a cream coloured one, and will be trying to finish it soon so I can wear it and get on with making Christmas presents.

DXL755_70844_31010_72_6148 copy

Current song: Múm – The Land Between Solar Systems
Current movie: 500 Days of Summer

 

What have you been doing lately?

3 responses to “Iz Haz Influenza. Sad Face.

  1. Kyla told me in the week about your flu and I felt so bad for you 😦 I hope you’re feeling better soon!

  2. The legwarmers look great! Knitting is definitely on my “to-learn” list for this Dec. I’m off work in 37 days! AAAAACK! I can’t wait. :]

    I can’t wait to see how the cowl turns out.

  3. I want to make wrist warmers now- but I’m in the middle of a couple of cowls now too. They’re wonderful!

Leave a Reply

