Craigslist Mishaps

I was never the privileged type to own any sort of gaming console when I was young. While all of my friends were raving about the newest Super Nintendo, Sega and Playstation games, I felt like I had missed the boat somewhere. When I was 4-7 years old, one of our neighbors had a Sega Genesis. They were older and had a grandson that visited often, but it was me who visited more to play Sonic The Hedgehog. Then, when I was 7, my family moved to Pemberton. Every time I would ask my parents if we could buy a gaming system they quickly responded with, “Go outside, or read a book.”

Alas, 13 years later, I made the big decision after receiving some unexpected Christmas money, that I was going to fulfill my dream of playing Super Mario Allstars until the cows came home. I plunged into the world of eBay and Craigslist and decided to make my purchase off of a man locally. One SNES, cables, 4 controllers, Mario Allstars and Tetris/Dr.Mario.

I rode the skytrain in excitement and let him half an hour from home for a quick exchange. As soon as I made it back, I went straight for the television to play. To my dismay, when I plugged it in, all I got was a black screen with a few white lines and a slight buzzing sound. NO GAME! I quickly called the seller and informed him of my problem. He informed me that he had tested it just before coming to meet me, and that he may have given me the wrong cord.

Fast forward to the next day. I ask the guy to meet me halfway because I don’t want to go all the way to his area again. We meet, and swap cords. I ask him what happens if it still doesn’t work, and he hesitantly murmurs, ‘Well, I guess if this doesn’t work, I’ll take it back.’ I rush home to find that I still have the same problem, and the next day I test it on a friend’s TV and get no other result.

After testing all possible scenarios that I can think of, I end up texting the seller asking when we can arrange to meet to do the return. The following correspondence ensued:

Me: Hey Jared can I return the SNES to you? It doesn’t work on my tv.
Seller: sorry i don’t want it back it does work
Me: So you’re saying that you’re going to fuck me out of $80 because you sold me something that ‘does’ work?!’
Seller: I tested it before selling it so i know it does work you’re just not hooking it up right. i’ve already gone out of my way for you.

It suddenly became a realization that I wasn’t going to get my money back, and that I had something that I wasn’t going to be able to sell again. After discussing it with my coworkers that day, I emailed him about all of the things that I had tried in order to get it to work, and informed him that it was only fair that I should get my money back for the items.

Am I wrong in assuming that people have morals? This guy has not responded to my email at all, and refuses to be in contact with me at all. If the system does work like he says, there should be no reason why he won’t take it back. He can easily resell it, whereas I cannot. I have a conscience, people!

Anyway, this has yet to be resolved. I have threatened him with a police report, and have quite a lot of his information to get somewhere with it. Worst case scenario, I go to a friend of mine that repairs SNES’s and he will take a look at it. In the meantime, I decided to buy a USB controller so that I can play oldschool games online instead.

What would you do in this situation?

5 responses to “Craigslist Mishaps

  1. Ugh, that is awful. I am not sure, but I dint think police have jurisdiction when it comes to CL stuff—a friend had a similar situation with a camera & got nowhere with the cops. I don’t mean to be negative, just a heads up. Hope it all works out well! xo

  2. This is tough- but I think that it’s an argument for seeking out these kind of finicky electronics through vintage game sellers instead of through craigslist or Kijiji which are all kind of inherently sketchy.

    But people are sketchy all the time, and it’s hard not to be upset by it. The $3000 worth of damage on my car that I just got before I visited you? The lady went in and made up a story that I was moving too so she would only have to pay half of my deductible, even though I was at a full stop at the time. So right before Christmas & after the Vancouver fiasco we’re out several hundred more dollars because she wouldn’t take responsibility.

    Sometimes people just suck.
    Thankfully, we are not those people, but they sure make you wonder.

  3. OMG People suck sometimes, and right at Christmas too! Seriously, if he’s that hard up, jesus, I dunno what I’d do. I’d definitely harass him though.

    Call him everyday at 1 am with a blocked number for the next year. And email him spam constantly.

  4. I can’t believe he didn’t take it back! What a horrid person 😦 Hopefully he see’s reason and turns out to be an honourable person. Luck, hey!

  5. That sucks! But, I believe in karma and I’m certain this arse will get what he deserves. Aside from that, I’m not sure what I would do in this situation. Definitely learn from it and decide to test it at the seller’s place first the next time I purchase something on CL

Leave a Reply

