A Little Bitta Monday Inspiration

This stay-cation has been one of the best I think I’ve ever had! Although my mouth has been in pain pretty much the whole time, I’ve actually gotten a lot of much needed down time. My step mom stayed with me the day of my surgery and helped me try to eat when I couldn’t feel my face, and was there to laugh at the silly side effects of the pain medications I was on. And the day after that, my dad came down to visit with me for the night. I also had quite a few other visitors over, and I must admit that I feel so thankful for all of the amazing people in my life. It seems sappy, but my sorry little self wouldn’t have made it far without you guys this week, and I am so glad that you guys were around!

Having so much time on my hands as been a little weird, though. I have been going bonkers because I have nothing to do! I mean, when every item in your Reader has been read, there’s not much else to do but explore! I found out about some great new blogs today, and just thought I’d share! Do you ever get hooked on a new blog that you end up at their 20th page of archives and realize that you’re sort of creatively stalking them? That’s how I feel about these 3 today.

1. Here’s lookin at me kid

2. Rockstar Diaries

3. Freckled Nest

Also, I thought I’d share a bit of the playlist I had going on today. I need more girly indie/happy music. I have been noticing that most of the artist I listen to are led by male singers, and want to expand! Any suggestions?

Yesterday through my weary state I ended up getting out of the house for a bit, and went to 2 local craft supply stores. Dressew is one of my all time favourite stores in Vancouver, and they have steins of yarn for $1.99 all year round! The only thing is that they don’t have a very nice selection this year. I want to knit with big, thick, soft, fluffy yarn! So I asked them if they had any recommendations for where I should go, and they referred me to Three Bags Full, which had a sale on! I got this lovely turquoisey 100% wool yesterday, and have so much of it! Say hello to the beginning of the prettiest, biggest, funnest cowl you’ll ever see!

ps. I got new glasses a couple of weeks ago! What do you think?

While at Dressew, I also picked up this lovely bunch of fabrics! I’m planning on making a cutesy fabric garland that I can hang in my room , or in the kitchen, or anywhere that would be visible for anyone at my house. Inspiration for this found at The Purl Bee. Maybe I’ll get to start on my garland tomorrow (yarn and flower in photo will not be part of the garland)! Oh how lovely that would be!

Anyway, I guess I should go. I’m sort of rambling, and am probably not making much sense. I just thought I’d share of inspiration with you all to try to get you motivated for a great week! I’ve decided I’m not going to be going to work tomorrow so that I can be all better for the rest of the week. That, and the fact that another short week is within my grasp is pretty fantastic!

Happy Monday!

4 responses to “A Little Bitta Monday Inspiration

  1. Check out Regina Spektor and Rilo Kiley. They are both fantastical female vocalists! =)
    And I love all the crafty business you have going on! Post pics of the garland when you’ve finished it!
    And… I love the glasses!!

  2. Beautiful!

    For more female vocalists, I definitely recommend Regina Spektor and Rilo Kiley, like Melissa. I’d also say check out Tilly and The Wall (they use a tap dancer instead of a drummer), Company of Thieves, and Tegan and Sara

  3. Gogol Bordello, Colin Meloy and Noah & The Whale? Your playlist is just dreamy! Check out Marina and the Diamonds for some indie girly stuff (“I am not a robot” and “Mowgli’s Road” are awesome!), maybe The Sounds, Gregory & The Hawk for something softer… it’s hard; 95% of my stuff is male-led, too!

  4. Love the colour of the yarn (and your glasses are super cute!) . Yay for short weeks – hope you feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

