How To: Venison Steak Marinade

After living on a strict ice cream and poutine diet for the past week, yesterday I had the biggest craving for some actual food. Not just any actual food, but a standard all American home cooked meal. So I decided that it was time to stop pretending like I’m a vegetarian, and start pretending that my mouth wasn’t hurting and just cook some steak already! The meal I had was so satisfying that I was literally in tears eating it (somewhat pain induced) and I had to share my family’s recipe for marinade.

Here’s what you’ll need:

3-4 small steaks (I wish I had a scale for that!)
1/4 light soy sauce
3 tbsp brown sugar
1 clove garlic, crushed
1/4 tsp black pepper
2 tbsp olive oil
1/2 lemon, squeezed
1 medium onion, thinly sliced

Prepare the rest of the items you’re having for dinner first. In my case, I made steamed veggies (green beans and corn) and rice. Then in a separate pan, put the meat, saucy goodness and onion together and heat on medium. Once your concoction is simmering, let the meat cook for about 2-3 minutes on each side. That’s it! And if you like your meat a little more well done, then just cook it longer! The steak I had was medium rare, the onions were caramelized, and it was so easy!  As well, you don’t have to use this for just deer meat, you can use it for anything!

What’s your favourite comfort food?

One response to “How To: Venison Steak Marinade

  1. Spinach + Feta Pie with Kumara Mash. Mmm, I’m so addicted to both, that if I’m having a down day its the first thing I want to guzzle! Glad you’re (almost?) back to eating solids! 🙂

Leave a Reply

