I thought this only happened in movies.

For some of you that have been following for most of my blogging career, you’ve probably heard of the heartache I had to endure when one of my closest friends had to move away. Steve lived with me for a little shorter than a year, and became one of the closest friends I’ve ever had. Abruptly, in May 2008, he was sent back to Boston where he was originally from and it left me shattered and feeling completely disconnected. I was forced to deal with my partner in crime being (unofficially) deported, having to deal with all of his belongings and having to find someone to fill his spot in our small basement suite.

Over the last two years we have managed to maintain as much of a relationship as our lives have let us. We were using email, skype and phone as much as we could, but it just wasn’t the same. We tried to keep our friendship from dwindling, but with both of our schedules (and the fact that one party isn’t so great on the phone) it was almost impossible to keep up. But I have always been the type of person that doesn’t give up on long distance friendships, and balance it as much as I could.

Recently I’ve been trying to get a hold of him without success. He’s been too busy with work, and wasn’t responding to the emails I had been sending him. I started to get so anxious about his schedule, that I was having dreams about him avoiding me. I’d send him an email right after a nightmare hoping for some sort of reassurance, but I wouldn’t hear anything back.

Then, on Saturday afternoon I got an email from him saying that he would be free that night, and would be online to chat with me at 7pm. Despite me having plans, I decided that I was going to prioritize him because I knew how busy he was, and I didn’t want to waste any opportunity. Then, around 630pm I got a phone call from him:

S:  Amber! I just wanted to call you because I got you the best present ever and I’m at a 24 hour FedEx place right now. I want to send it to you right now before it ends up on my bedroom floor for a month and a half.
A: Squee! Really? I can’t wait! What is it? No, I don’t want to know. Yay!
S: What’s your address so I can send it right now?
A: (insert personal information here) Aww you’re way too sweet! I can’t wait to get it!
S: Okay, I’m just going to drop this off and then I’ll head home to chat with you. Are you around?
A: Of course. What else would I be doing other than waiting for you? Talk to you in a bit!

10 minutes go by, with me trying to pass time while reading a few blogs at my kitchen table. I’m anxiously waiting for Steve to sign in so we can talk when, out of the corner of my eye, I see a figure move past my windows, and the motion light goes off. I glance over to the window, and see the light shining on his face. For a second I didn’t even believe my eyes, and hesitated. It wasn’t until he knocked on the locked door to get in that my mind shifted back into reality.  I let him in and immediately burst into hysterical tears of joy. I couldn’t believe that he showed up! He didn’t tell anyone from home that he was coming in fear of ruining the surprise, and didn’t tell anyone in Vancouver.

I immediately started asking him what he was doing here. Sobbing and trying to get words out while hugging him so tightly, I managed to get out my questions. “What? What are you doing here? How long are you here for? What? Where are you staying? I can’t believe you’re hereeee!” His answers were all I wanted to hear. He told me he’s here for 10 days, and that he wasn’t sure where he was staying (meaning, my house of course!). He told me that he had deliberately avoided responding to my emails for the past week because he wanted me to be even more surprised when he showed up.

For the past few days our visit has been filled with breakfasts at Bons, movie nights and slight drunken (mis)adventures. I am so grateful that I have such amazing friends, and am still in awe that he’s even here. I trust that our visit will remain to be exciting until he leaves on Monday.

10 responses to “I thought this only happened in movies.

  1. Aww that is so awesome!! I’m so happy for you 🙂

  2. This is AMAZING! Hooray Steve! Hope your visit is totally awesome.

  3. Nicely done, Steve!
    I hope you have an amazing visit 🙂

  4. AH!! Steve is just the best, give him a big hug from me!!

  5. Oh hurrah! That’s so brilliant, and I’m glad that the surprise worked out so well! ❤ 🙂

  6. That’s so great !! 🙂 This is such a great post to read so early on a Monday morning. Brought a smile to my face, and I hope you guys enjoy your time together!

  7. WOW!! That’s SUCH a wonderful surprise 🙂 🙂

  8. Hi Steve!
    Awmbs, I caught up on your blog while I was on hold with the bank and I must say what was the best on hold session ever. I love your stories… I LOVE YOUR PHOTOS!… and most of all I love you. keep well!

  9. aww! oh my gosh! how amazing 🙂 you have such a great friend!

  10. That is an amazing surprise! I hope you enjoy your time with your friend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

