Cheer Up, Buttercup

The common misconception about Vancouver is that the weather conditions are always so mild. This is mostly true; Vancouverites are lucky in that they get to enjoy warm winters, and mild summers. But what most people don’t know is that this comes with major consequences. Because we are on the coast, there seems to be constant rain during the fall and winter months, and by the time February hits it seems like this whole city is such a sad and dreary place.

I was recently found this article that was so inspiring for me. It’s about things that put light back into your heart when you’re feeling down, and I was surprised to find that there were a lot of things on that list that put a smile on my face. I know that it’s not just me that has a hard time getting through the late winter months, I thought that I might share some of the things that I connected with.

So here we have it. I’ve compiled a list of 10things that will cheer me up no matter what:

1. Have a snugglefest with a friend or partner. If you don’t have one, a pillow almost makes up for it.

2. Experience a sunset. Just get out and enjoy it! Here in Vancouver there are quite a few beaches and parks that you can go to where you can sit an enjoy some peace and quiet.

3. Plan a vacation, even if you’re not going anywhere. Map out routes you would take, places you’d like to stay and people and things you’d like to see. It may not get you far, but at least it will get you out of your head for a while.

4. Get dressed up, and go out somewhere. Even if it’s just to get groceries or do little errands. Being outside and looking good is just as therapeutic as anything.

5. Escape! Go anywhere that isn’t where you live, even if it’s to the local park. If you have a car, drive outside of the city and explore a new place. Take transit to the end of the line! Do anything to experience something new.

6. Eat ice cream and watch trashy television. And I mean trashy. I mean Teen Mom on MTV trashy. It’s amusing, and makes you realize that you really don’t have it too bad sometimes.

7. Have a dinner party at your house. Invite a friend or two, and have a low key night where you can just spend time together. It could be formal, or it could be themed! If you don’t have the energy to make all of the food, you could make it a potluck!

8. Put on your favourite guilty pleasure music at a high volume and sing along as loudly as you can. For me, my guilty pleasure music is Jay-Z. Whenever I’m feeling upset, I turn on Blueprint 1, 2 or 3 full blast and show the whole world that I exist (and that Jay-Z does).

9. Find a project in a craft book or online and tackle it for the rest of the day.

10. Watch any of the following YouTube videos over and over again:
Puppy Can’t Get Up
A Word With Chester~Blanket Fort
Blood

{Source}

What cheers you up on a cloudy day?

4 responses to “Cheer Up, Buttercup

  1. oh my hell

    puppy can’t get up is the cutest thing I’ve ever seen

  2. Ha! We posted the same thing today =)
    Thought twins.

  3. I LOVE this list. My area has been experiencing an incredibly snow-filled (almost 4 feet in just the month of Feb.). So I’ve been having to dig deep to keep my spirits up. Last weekend it warmed up over freezing so my 13 year old cousin and I got out, saw a movie, went to dinner and just spent the day not in the house. It was so much fun and so revitalizing.

  4. I’m going to check that article out right away 🙂

    And YES!! Trashy MTV shows are definitely on my list, haha 🙂

Leave a Reply

