Procrastination at it’s best

{Source}

It’s official! I’m moving next Sunday! It’s weird how March is always one of the hardest months for me, yet it still always catches me off guard. This month I’ve dealt with a break in, the first major fight I’ve ever had with my best friend, my boss’ boss’ boss confronting me and possible landlord conflicts. After all of the troubles March has brought me, I’m looking forward to moving on, and moving out into a new place.

Some specs: 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom, garden level, back yard, and big windows in the bedrooms. It’s really close to the area we live in now, but it’s a little quieter. So I’m hoping that will give me more motivation to ride my bike everywhere when I’m bored. And there will only be two of us in the new place, so we’ve decided to make the 3rd bedroom the arts and crafts room! I can’t wait! What I’m not excited about is the fact that I have to paint my current room before the new tenants get here. Why don’t these people like bright green, you ask? I don’t know. I think they’re absolutely crazy. Maybe they’re not human. I think that’s it.

Is it just me, or is it hard for everyone to pack their stuff? I am seriously having a hard time to find the motivation to get started on things the last couple of days, and am using every little excuse not to. ‘Oh! There’s something new in my Reader! I’m hungry! I want to go for a bike ride. I want to look at pictures of tattoos for 2 hours.’ These are not good ways to pack! Yet, it’s incredibly addicting and gets my mind off of stressing about all of the things I have to do. But today I brought my friend over to keep me on track, and it worked quite well. I’d say that I’m about 1/3rd of the way finished, which is great

What was your last moving experience like? How did you stay focused?

7 responses to “Procrastination at it’s best

  1. I completely understand how you feel. We’re moving at the end of April, so it’s creeping up on us! It will be bittersweet to leave the town I basically grew up in, but I’m so excited for a fresh new start in a new place. Best of luck to you, and I’m looking forward to sharing moving stories with you! πŸ˜€ Adorable photo, btw.

  2. I’m so excited for your new place! And also? I get to see it in two months.

    Packing is really tough- when we moved last, we didn’t start packing until a week before we were leaving- I prefer to have my home look & feel like my home right up until the end =)

    Good luck with the move!

  3. uhg. packing is a love hate thing for me. i LOVE getting psychotically organized when packing. like categorizing the boxes. folding everything up so neat and tidy. but i hate starting it because i know it will take forever. so i procrastinate and there is always one giant box at the end that contains all the shit i was sick of organizing and didn’t have a perfect place to fit in.

    but one thing i really really love is when you are unpacking those ridiculously organized boxes and you know exactly where everything is. and you know exactly where you want to put it in your new space. ahh, that feels good.

    right now, i want to move SO BAD. i just want to be able to decorate exactly how i want. which means i will need to suddenly come into a lot of money bequeathed to me by a long lost relative. this will not happen. but i must keep dreaming.

    post pictures of your new space when you are all settled. im so excited for you. i hope it is safer!

  4. I totally didn’t stay focused last time I moved. I had a month to pack too and I think I did it all in the last two days. Scratch that, last DAY. It’ll be okay! Knackering, but okay πŸ™‚ I’m excited for you!!

  5. I totally understand how you feel, love your blog πŸ™‚

  6. i had my family come over for brunch, we all cooked together, and then we packed together. it was really nice and we got about 80% done that day with everyone’s help. we just had to pack up the little things and our clothes for the travel part (we moved from wisconsin to arizona) the next morning.

    i find it much easier to pack with someone else around for motivation. i hope your new place (which sounds fabulous with a backyard!) is a whole lot safer than your last!

  7. Hooray for new places to call home. I am keeping my fingers crossed for you that your April is much better than your March has been. Also, please be sure to send me your new address. =)

Leave a Reply

